I'm looking
for help...
Aidpage is free!

Free downloads: GrantGate®  Federal Money Retriever®

Federal Assistance to Individuals and Households_Housing

Published on AidPage by IDILOGIC on Jun 24, 2005

Administered by:

US Federal Government Agency (see all agencies)
Department Of Homeland Security
CFDA #: 97.048

Who is eligible to apply...

Individuals and households, in areas declared an emergency or major disaster by the President, whose primary residence has been damaged or destroyed and whose losses are not covered by insurance are eligible to apply for this program. All needs must be caused by the disaster. The individual or a member of the household must be a citizen of the United States, a non-citizen national, or a qualified alien. Housing Assistance: 1) Temporary Housing Assistance - proof of residency; disaster caused displacement, and/or paid receipts for transient accommodations; 2) Repair - primary residence, proof of residency and ownership; disaster related home damage; 3) Replacement - primary residence, proof of residency and ownership; home destroyed by the disaster; 4) Permanent Housing Construction - primary residence, proof of residency and ownership; disaster related home damage, home is located in an insular area outside the continental United States or in other remote locations. Alternative housing resources are unavailable, infeasible, or not cost-effective. Other Needs Assistance: 1) Medical-disaster caused expenses, and/or paid receipts (bills) for medical treatment; 2) Dental-disaster caused expenses, and/or paid receipts (bills) for treatment; 3) Funeral - disaster caused expenses, and/or paid receipts (bills) for services; 4) Personal Property - proof of ownership; disaster related personal property damage; 5) Transportation, proof of ownership; vehicle complies with State laws, disaster related vehicle damage; 6) Other Necessary Expenses and Serious Needs Identified, the expense or need must be cause by the disaster and approved by FEMA.

Eligible Applicant Categories:
Eligible Functional Categories:

FEMA Disaster Assistance Regulations at 44 CFR Part 206.110-120.

Note:This is a brief description of the credentials or documentation required prior to, or along with, an application for assistance.

About this section:

This section indicates who can apply to the Federal government for assistance and the criteria the potential applicant must satisfy. For example, individuals may be eligible for research grants, and the criteria to be satisfied may be that they have a professional or scientific degree, 3 years of research experience, and be a citizen of the United States. Universities, medical schools, hospitals, or State and local governments may also be eligible. Where State governments are eligible, the type of State agency will be indicated (State welfare agency or State agency on aging) and the criteria that they must satisfy.

Certain federal programs (e.g., the Pell Grant program which provides grants to students) involve intermediate levels of application processing, i.e., applications are transmitted through colleges or universities that are neither the direct applicant nor the ultimate beneficiary. For these programs, the criteria that the intermediaries must satisfy are also indicated, along with intermediaries who are not eligible.